Dangerous goods regulations define radioactive material as any material containing radionuclides where both the activity concentration and the total activity exceeds certain pre-defined values. A radionuclide is an atom with an unstable nucleus and which consequently is subject to radioactive decay. Whilst undergoing radioactive decay radionuclides emit ionizing radiation, which presents potentially severe risks to human health.




There are no subdivisions within Class 7, Radioactive Material.


Note: Radioactive material is transported in Australia in accordance with the Safe Transport of Radioactive Material Code Of Practice (2014) published by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA.) In New South Wales the Regulator is the NSW Environmental Protection Agency (EPA.)


Commonly Transported Radioactive Material

  1. Radioactive ores

  2. Medical isotopes

  3. Yellowcake

  4. Density gauges

  5. Mixed fission products

  6. Surface contaminated objects

  7. Caesium radionuclides / isotopes

  8. Iridium radionuclides / isotopes

  9. Americium radionuclides / isotopes

  10. Plutonium radionuclides / isotopes

  11. Radium radionuclides / isotopes

  12. Thorium radionuclides / isotopes

  13. Uranium radionuclides / isotopes

  14. Depleted uranium / depleted uranium products

  15. Uranium hexafluoride

  16. Enriched Uranium

  17. Smoke detectors